Another perspective on the Common Core

Today I read Laura Thomas, a proponent of critical thinking and authentic learning, in her post “The ‘Monster’ at the End of the Common Core.”  I have to say I agree  with it.   There will be more room to play with interdisciplinary units.   There will be great projects, and kids will be stretched.  I, too, welcome “the common core as a stepping stone to better outcomes for all of our kids” and I know the Core does “represent what we know to be good teaching.”

I also, however, agree with Nancy Flanagan that the Standards may be great.  The industry being build around them, particularly the testing agency, is dubious.

But for now, I will nostalgically remember Grover hugging himself at the end of his book while doing what I can to nail down my pages so that other industry aspect doesn’t ruin it all.

Leave a Reply

